| Author |
Message |
oprime2001
Lieutenant


Joined: Jul 13, 2003
Posts: 165
|
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 6:57 pm |
  |
I had a random user JackFromWales4u2 register on one of my phpnuke sites. At first I was annoyed at the random registration, but then paranoia took hold. I checked the logs for any obvious or glaring exploits, but I did not see anything.
I then checked the various phpnuke security sites. I was surprised to see that JackFromWales4u2 was also the latest signup at a forum moderator's site.
I then ran a google search on JackFromWales4u2 , and google returned 18600 hits!
From a random check of the various google hits, it seems that JackFromWales4u2 has been very busy with a great number of registrations at these various phpnuke and phpbb sites within a span of a couple of days -- September 1-2, 2004.
Now this screams of an exploit/vulnerability! Is there a script or exploit/vulnerability that is out in the wild that is yet unpatched?
Or am I just being paranoid here?
p.s. you might want to check your own sites to see if you've had a visit from JackFromWales4u2, too. |
|
|
   |
 |
BrainSmashR
Support Mod


Joined: Jan 05, 2004
Posts: 1390
Location: Louisiana, USA
|
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:34 pm |
  |
Interesting......read another topic here about some attack using Jobo or something like that.
I looked it up and it was a program to download entire site content and included the ability to fill in forms and such....
No big deal until you mentioned this.......
now I'm no security guru at all......but this account might dissapper from my site on accident just in case.
Edit: his e-mail@mail.ru Known spamming domain and has been "filterd" out of my mail system for months. |
_________________

USE THE FORUM. If you contact me via messenger for support I will add you to my ignore list. |
|
       |
 |
oprime2001
Lieutenant


Joined: Jul 13, 2003
Posts: 165
|
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:48 pm |
  |
Isn't phpnuke's security image supposed to stop automated registration? The security image is used on my site and on a number of the sites on google search on JackFromWales4u2. |
|
|
   |
 |
BrainSmashR
Support Mod


Joined: Jan 05, 2004
Posts: 1390
Location: Louisiana, USA
|
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 7:58 pm |
  |
As I said......I'm no security Guru, nor do I use the security image.....but I agree, that's the purpose of that image.
My opinion is based on the fact that I've used the nick BrainSmashR on a variety of stuff for many years and mygoogle search on BrainSmashR only returns 5,740. (5 times more than google search on brainsmashEr in case you ever wondered where the nick idea came from )
I'm supernerd and this guy has nearly 4x the action all by himself? I find that hard to believe. |
_________________

USE THE FORUM. If you contact me via messenger for support I will add you to my ignore list. |
|
       |
 |
VirtualChicano
Nuke Cadet


Joined: Sep 02, 2004
Posts: 8
Location: East Los Angeles, CA USA
|
Posted:
Sat Sep 04, 2004 8:35 pm |
  |
hello,
jackfromwales4u2 also joined buscandoamor.com.mx but i did not find it unusual until now
i was more concerned with "customscoop" he or she's been sittin' in spanglishchat.com for 5-6 days now. i did the google thing and it's an news data bank of sorts.
i had 5 php-nuke sites hacked. Telli from codezwiz.com took care of the security for me. i haven't been hacked since. as a foot note, i used the last referrers block to take me to my hackers website. he still had his script up. the site had an .br extension for brazil but when i reported him to nic.br they did the who-is and he turned out to be an argentine mathematician - a college professor!
sad but true,
dan |
_________________ Viva el Rojo, Blanco y Azul |
|
       |
 |
whOcArEz
Nuke Cadet


Joined: Sep 05, 2004
Posts: 3
|
Posted:
Sun Sep 05, 2004 12:41 am |
  |
| oprime2001 wrote: |
I had a random user JackFromWales4u2 register on one of my phpnuke sites. At first I was annoyed at the random registration, but then paranoia took hold. I checked the logs for any obvious or glaring exploits, but I did not see anything.
I then checked the various phpnuke security sites. I was surprised to see that JackFromWales4u2 was also the latest signup at a forum moderator's site.
I then ran a google search on JackFromWales4u2 , and google returned 18600 hits!
From a random check of the various google hits, it seems that JackFromWales4u2 has been very busy with a great number of registrations at these various phpnuke and phpbb sites within a span of a couple of days -- September 1-2, 2004.
|
I did the same here
Anybody with more information about this guy and/or what is he up to with all these accounts??
I hope to hear more.... |
|
|
   |
 |
djalecc
Lieutenant


Joined: Feb 21, 2004
Posts: 180
Location: Gloucestershire
|
Posted:
Sun Sep 05, 2004 1:11 am |
  |
|
    |
 |
Winbar
Nuke Cadet


Joined: Sep 09, 2004
Posts: 1
|
Posted:
Wed Sep 08, 2004 11:47 pm |
  |
Just found him on mine and seen what he's done.
He's somehow posted a comment on every single news post with a link in it, which I havent as yet clicked. Im presuming he's a virus spammer or someone astroturfing for their website... either way - BINNED! |
|
|
   |
 |
gadji
Sergeant


Joined: Oct 14, 2003
Posts: 115
|
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 12:19 am |
  |
he/she used the ip address 66.219.97.51 to get on my site, and put a comment on each news article. The links go to a search engine page (kind of like yahoo directory). |
|
|
   |
 |
Doodle
Premium


Joined: Sep 13, 2003
Posts: 50
|
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 7:25 am |
  |
He signed up for my site on Sept 1, 2004. Here is the information from MS_Analysis:
Username: <blank>
E-mail address: jacked4u@mail.ru
Registration Date: Sept 1, 2004
Browser: MSIE 5.01
Operating System: Windows 2000
IP-address: 66.219.97.51
Country: United States
ISP/Host: floridadom.com
Last Time online: 2004-09-08 15:22:19
Hits: 1
I found that he has been adding spam to every one of my News comments. Example:
| Quote: |
by JackFromWales4u2 on Wednesday, September 08 @ 16:22:51 CDT
(IP: 66.219.97.51)
Really? Every day we get known something new.
Shopping - Gifts [www.wolist.com]
|
Looks like he has found an automated way of spamming nuke sites, prolly to up his google rankings when the bots index your news page. I did have the security image disabled for signups so perhaps a script signed him up. I've changed his password and sentinel blocked his IP for now but I am curious if he did this on other sites. He is taking advantage of the way nuke works to add spam to our sites I'd say. |
_________________ Doodle
Independent Network Solutions
webmaster@indnet.ca |
|
     |
 |
Doodle
Premium


Joined: Sep 13, 2003
Posts: 50
|
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 7:34 am |
  |
Here is the company I think:
Russian Florida, Inc.
18090 Collins Avenue #190
Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
also has the domain floridadom.com which has the same contact info:
Russian Florida, Inc.
c/o FloridaDom.com
18090 Collins Avenue
Suite# 190
Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Customer service (954) 457-9440
(Monday to Friday between 10.00am and 6.00pm)
I'd say a nasty email or phone call is forthcoming... |
_________________ Doodle
Independent Network Solutions
webmaster@indnet.ca |
|
     |
 |
Doodle
Premium


Joined: Sep 13, 2003
Posts: 50
|
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 7:47 am |
  |
Check your server logs, I found this (gotta be a script):
| Quote: |
66.219.97.51 - - [08/Sep/2004:16:22:12 -0500] "GET /modules.php?name=Your_Account&op=gfx&random_num=841707 HTTP/1.1" 200 1526 "http://www.indnet.ca/modules.php?name=Your_Account&op=new_user" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT 5.0)"
66.219.97.51 - - [08/Sep/2004:16:22:12 -0500] "POST /modules.php?name=Your_Account HTTP/1.1" 302 5 "http://www.indnet.ca/modules.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT 5.0)"
66.219.97.51 - - [08/Sep/2004:16:22:21 -0500] "GET /modules.php?name=News HTTP/1.1" 200 60958 "http://www.indnet.ca/modules.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT 5.0)"
|
then a whole lotta these:
| Quote: |
66.219.97.51 - - [08/Sep/2004:16:22:22 -0500] "POST /modules.php?name=News&file=comments HTTP/1.1" 302 5 "http://www.indnet.ca/modules.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT 5.0)" |
|
_________________ Doodle
Independent Network Solutions
webmaster@indnet.ca |
|
     |
 |
Doodle
Premium


Joined: Sep 13, 2003
Posts: 50
|
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 8:02 am |
  |
also owns: RussianFlorida.com
They are registered through godaddy via domainsbyproxy.com so they can hide their contact info in a whois search:
RUSSIANFLORIDA.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
This violates domainsbyproxy's TOS:
| Quote: |
Domains By Proxy, Inc., will not, under any circumstances, tolerate Spam, UBE (Unauthorized Bulk Email) or UCE (Unauthorized Commercial Email) and will not allow individuals to “hide” behind our services in order to engage in, or to avoid detection from being involved in, these prohibited activities. |
Soooo.....another nastygram email. |
_________________ Doodle
Independent Network Solutions
webmaster@indnet.ca |
|
     |
 |
Doodle
Premium


Joined: Sep 13, 2003
Posts: 50
|
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 8:29 am |
  |
|
     |
 |
beetraham
Private


Joined: Nov 09, 2003
Posts: 48
Location: Deep Forests of Finland
|
Posted:
Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:26 am |
  |
Any news from the ISP yet?
I'd personally appreciate it a lot that the responsible ISP nurturing the malicious NEWS REPLY spammer would come down to here at NukeCops (as NukeCops global coverage is vast) and explain their planned actions (and outcome) to bring this guy down for good.
I wish I'm not loosing my sense of reality - I just feel that in this case it would be justified as a courtesy call.
BR,
-beetraham |
|
|
    |
 |
|
|